New Beginnings Prayer

Do not remember the former things,
Nor consider the things of old.

Behold, I will do a new thing,
Now it shall spring forth;
Shall you not know it?
I will even make a road in the wilderness
And rivers in the desert.

~ Is. 43:18-19 ~

Dear God,

Thank You that You are a God of new beginnings!  You didn’t stop creating on the sixth day, but continue to create and recreate this world and this person that I am.  I confess that it is hard for me to begin again.  I’m afraid to try to change because I’ve failed so many times before.  But this I know:  You don’t waste any pain or any failure.  And You never give up!  You never throw up Your hands, walk away, and say “That’s it!  You’ll never change!”  Instead, You are wholly and happily ready every day to begin all over again with me.  Just as the sun rises new each day, so do my opportunities for new beginnings and totally fresh starts.  Help me to remember that as I take small steps toward You, You are always reaching out to help me and You are rejoicing in my progress.  Your focus is not on the distance gained or the final destination.  Let’s begin again, God.  Right now.

Amen.

~ from The Dieter’s Prayer Book ~

* emphasis added

Leave a Reply

