“The Strength of My Heart”

My flesh and my heart fail;
But God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.

~ Ps. 73:26

Do you not know that those who run in a race all run, but one receives the prize?  Run in such a way that you may obtain it. And everyone who competes for the prize is temperate in all things.  Now they do it to obtain a perishable crown, but we for an imperishable crown. Therefore I run thus: not with uncertainty.  Thus I fight: not as one who beats the air.  But I discipline my body and bring it into subjection, lest, when I have preached to others, I myself should become disqualified.

I Cor. 9:24-27

Dear Lord,

Help me to understand this glorious truth:  Although I am called to exert effort on Your behalf, and mine, I am also called to depend completely upon You and Your strength.  Make Your strength my strength today.  You know how weak I am, how quickly my energy flags when my arms are not linked with Yours, when my soul is running on empty.  Fill me with Your Holy Spirit, with Your miraculous power and strength.  I surrender all that I am – and all that I am not, as well – to You, Lord.  Take me as I am.  Make me wholly Yours, and I will be whole.

Amen.

~ from The Dieter’s Prayer Book ~

Leave a Reply

