Friday

Water Count: 3

I really didn’t want to post this today.  Another day where I ate upwards of 2,500 calories?  Really?  And I’m still saying that I’m trying to be healthier?  Knowing that if I’d not considered what I was eating at all, I’d have consumed about 1,000 more calories isn’t really comforting, either.  But, full disclosure.  So, hi.

The only food I didn’t truly think through yesterday was the kolache.  I was frustrated and had grabbed and eaten it before I realized it.  I didn’t even get a chance to photograph it (used an old photo above).

That may sound unbelievable to some of you, but yes, it is possible to eat something without realizing what you’re doing.  It happens all the time, and is something I’m constantly battling.  Actually, taking pictures of everything I eat has been a wonderful battle tactic on my unconscious behavior – only once in 3 days did I miss something. w00t!

My truly wasted calories came in the format of liquids – coffee, sweet tea &  pineapple orange juice contributed almost 700 calories to the day.  Wow.  When you combine that with the half chicken salad sandwich and gelato, well – you get 2,586 calories on the day.  Certainly not great, but still an improvement on yesterdays 2,942 tally.

When will I make time for this “planning” thing that is essential for progress?  Working today plus Father’s Day tomorrow rules out this weekend, and then the circus begins again first thing Monday morning.  I really need to get a handle on the basics of calorie counting before vacation.  I won’t have control over the cooking, or even the menu options, then.  I will, of course, have control over what I put in my mouth!  It’s still a ways out, so I should be able to get to it before then, but. . . you know me!  Queen of procrastination ‘n’ all that jazz.

Anyway, I hope everyone’s having a wonderful Saturday afternoon!  Here’s to small changes, one day at a time!

Leave a Reply

