Self-Pity & Research/Learning

Loretta included an Augustus P. Gardner quote in her post today, just for me.  Well, ok, so I know it wasn’t just for me, but it certainly applies to my attitude lately!!

Self-pity is easily the most destructive of the non-pharmaceutical narcotics; it is addictive, gives momentary pleasure and separates the victim from reality.

Um, yes, yes , yes!  Addictive?  Yes – and becomes a pattern quite quickly.  Momentary pleasure?  Yes, though not so pleasurable for those around you.  Separation from reality?  Yes, again!  The question remains, will I wallow in its narcotic effects, or push past them?

On a completely un-related note, I realized something about me today.  I love to learn, but I hate to research.

Maybe it’s my natural tendency to be lazy, but whenever I’m faced with something where I have little to no knowledge base, I get extremely flustered.  I much prefer to have someone teach me about said new challenge.

For the past two years (side note:  say what?  It’s been two years!?), I’ve thrown up my hands in confusion and avoided changing my eating habits.  A huge part of it has been avoidance/laziness, I know.  Another contributing factor is that I truly don’t know how to eat well.  There are so many theories being bandied about – how do I know which one is correct/appropriate for my family and for me?  “Conventional wisdom” and “common sense” seem to change monthly.

I’ve been to see a nutritionist once before, but, well. . . she was young and, frankly, not at all helpful.  My guess is she was just out of college and didn’t have much for client-interaction experience.  I left with a bunch of articles to read (none of which were even remotely practical) and a few packets of 0-calorie salad dressings – which were disgusting.

I thought that was my one chance at receiving “professional” instruction, and subsequently decided to go it alone and just “find something that works for me.”  Ha!  In other words, I was going to attempt to drastically change my approach to life – by myself – and the first step on that journey was to dive head-long into something that I loathe.  Yeah, that worked out well!

So, now it’s July 2011.  And what shall I do next?  Meet with a different nutritionist?  Try researching again?  Ask The Hubs to do the research?  😛  Read on the internet for 10 minutes and just pick the first thing that sounds logical?  Oiy.  I’m getting a headache already.  Of course, that could be due to the fact that it’s coming up on 2:00 pm and I have yet to eat lunch!

Anyway, I realize there’s not much of a resolution or plan of action to this post.  It’s just an observation, I suppose.  Any advice you have would be much appreciated!

Leave a Reply

