FMM

And now, it’s time for. . . Friend Making Monday!

(courtesy of Kenlie from All the Weigh)

8 Taboo Topics

  1. How often do you read/watch the news?  A couple of times a week, probably.  The overly partisan cast that seems to overwhelm reporting gets to me very quickly.
  2. What is your opinion on beauty pageants?  Meh.  I haven’t really invested much of myself into loving or hating them.  It seems an odd culture to immerse yourself in, though.
  3. Would you date/marry someone who has different religious views than you?  No, I wouldn’t.  I’d taken this position long before getting married, and only a few years in I’m even more convinced.  (Full disclosure:  I did compromise this ideal once, dating someone with different beliefs.  It didn’t turn out well, even though one of us “changed” their beliefs.  That change lasted no longer than the relationship.)  Your beliefs shape the way you view the world, your dreams, goals and purpose in life.  Marriage connects you to someone else for the entirety of that life.  They literally become an extension of yourself.  If a part of yourself is in direct conflict with your most elemental, defining characteristics, eventually the conflict will tear you – and your spouse – apart.
  4. Do you follow politics?  No, not really. . . polarizing is an understatement when it comes to how I feel about politicians!  The disadvantage, I know, is that without following politics, being an informed voter is difficult at best.
  5. How often do you talk about sex in your daily life and/or on your blog?  It’s not a typical topic of conversation in daily life, outside of my marriage.  Sometimes my friends and I do discuss it, but not daily or anything.  This is the closest I ever have, or likely ever will, come to discussing it on the blogosphere!
  6. Does it make you uncomfortable when someone asks you about your salary/income? Does it ever happen?  It’s a bit awkward, yes.  I don’t usually tell anyone, though – haha!  I remember asking my dad when I was younger what his salary was, and his answer was always “enough.”  That’s the line I use now, too.  🙂
  7. Do you tag friends and family in pictures that you post on FB, or do you seek permission first? I’ve essentially stopped uploading pictures to FB at all, so tagging is a moot point.  If I did, though, I wouldn’t typically tag them.  I’m more apt to tell people on their wall or in a message if there are pictures they should check out.
  8. Can you be friends with people who have opposing views on ‘taboo’ topics?  Of course!  I cherish those friendships more, sometimes, since the level of communication can be deeper and more honest when the open acknowledgement of differences exists.
4 Comments

Leave a Reply

