30 before 30: #22

#22.  Read (not re-read) one “classic.”

Date accomplished:  9/24/2012

So, for this particular item, I decided to read Mark Twain’s A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur’s Court.  I chose this title for many reasons:  I love Connecticut and Arthurian legend, for one.  The Hubs loves this book and has been telling me for years that I need to read it.  I’ve read a few things by Mark Twain, and in general like his style.

Also, it was already sitting on our bookshelf. . .free and incredibly convenient.

When I read, I need to know what’s going to happen as quickly as possible, so I tend to skim the first time through a book – just to get the plot.  Then, I’ll re-read it (sometimes ad nauseam) and really get to know the characters, the place, etc. etc. etc.

Unfortunately, I really didn’t like this book at all.  I love stories, and this one promised to be a good one.  It had all the right elements!

I couldn’t for the life of me get lost in this story.  I tried, believe me!  But. . .all I could feel toward the main character was annoyance, up until the last few pages.  He had this condescending and arrogant air about him.  I couldn’t get past it.  It’s one of the few times I’ve closed a book and thought, “finally!”.  I won’t be re-reading it, but I am glad to check another thing off the 30 before 30 list!

Onward and Upward, friends.

Leave a Reply

